Procurement as a Building Block for Circular Construction | 7 September 2021

Venue: Online webinar

Date: Tuesday 7th September 2021

Time: 9:30 – 10:45 BST / 10:30 – 11:45 CEST

Registration: link

There is perhaps no more important sector for the circular economy than construction. Almost half of all material extracted from the earth each year is for use within the built environment and, while the energy efficiency of buildings in-use has been improving, there is still a major challenge with embodied carbon in the materials used. This means that by 2050 it is estimated that CO2 emissions from construction will be responsible for almost half of total new building emissions compared to 28% today. (Ellen MacArthur Foundation, 2019)

As well as using a lot of new materials, the sector is also responsible for a lot of waste. In fact, construction and demolition waste is the largest waste stream in Europe in terms of mass (374 million tonnes in the EU-28 in 2016) (European Environment Agency, 2020). While many countries have established markets for recovered construction and demolition materials much of this is for low-grade uses such as road bases while there is very little closed loop recycling or reuse.

The Ellen MacArthur Foundation show that by 2050 implementing circular approaches in the built environment sector could reduce global CO2 emissions from building materials 38% by 2050, and up to 56% beyond 2050 (Ellen MacArthur Foundation, 2019). Although realising this potential will require major systemic change, several innovative projects have already been pushing ahead of the curve to implement circular approaches through the lens of procurement and supplier engagement.

Join this webinar to hear from several of the pilot projects that have been participating in the Interreg North Sea Region ProCirc project as they discuss how they have navigated key challenges to circular construction.

Programme

Time                 
Topic
9.30 BST
10.30 CEST
 Welcome and Introduction to ProCirc
9:35 BST
10:35 CEST
 Key challenges and opportunities in the construction sector 
9:45 BST
10:45 CEST

Theme 1 panel discussion and Q&A
Setting circular ambition, cirteria, and measuring impact

10:10 BST
11:10 CEST

Theme 2 panel discussion and Q&A
Engaging with stakeholders to implement reuse of buildings, components and materials

10:40 BST
11:40 CEST
Closing remarks

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Theme 1: setting circular ambition, criteria, and measuring impact

Challenges addressed:

-             Bringing circular ambition into requirements for components

-             Translating circular economy terminology into something that suppliers will understand

-             How to score / rank offers

-             Developing metrics to evaluating success against

 

Theme 2: engaging with stakeholders to implement reuse of buildings, components and materials

Challenges addressed:

-             Temporary construction / use of space

-             Considering rebuilds rather than defaulting to build new

-             Finding suppliers of circular materials and services

-             Setting up reuse systems