Project Consortium

The "North Sea Wrecks" project has a budget of over 4 million euros and is vo-funded by the EU through the Interreg North Sea Region Programme 2014-2020. Under coordination of the German Maritime Museum, 30 European project partners, Advisory Board Members and Supporting Institutions cooperate over a total period of 54 months.


  • German Maritime Museum, Leibniz Institute for Maritime History (DE),
  • Alfred-Wegener-Institute, Helmholtz-Centre for Polar and Marine Research (DE),
  • Flanders Marine Institute (BE),
  • Aarhus University - Department of Geoscience (DK),
  • NHL Stenden University of Applied Sciences,
  • Maritime Institute Willem Barentsz (NL),
  • GmbH (DE),
  • Periplus Consultancy BV (NL),
  • Norwegian Defense Research Establishment (NO),
  • University Medical School Schleswig-Holstein, Institute of Toxicology and Pharmacology (DE)


Advisory Board:

  • Antwerp Maritime Academy (BE),
  • Governor of Province West Flanders Belgium (BE),
  • DAIMON and DAIMON2 projects (PL),
  • Federal Ministry of the Interior, Building and Community (DE),
  • Flanders Heritage Agency (BE),
  • Lower Saxony Ministry for the Environment, Energy, Building and Climate Protection (DE),
  • Major Projects Foundation (AU),
  • Ministry of Defence (UK),
  • Ministry of Education, Culture and Science, Agency for Cultural Heritage (NL),
  • OSPAR Commission (UK), Norwegian Costal Administration (NO),
  • Schleswig-Holstein Ministry of Energy, Agriculture, the Environment, Nature and Digitalization – MELUND (DE),
  • Swedish Defence Research Agency (SE), Västra Götaland Region, Regional Coordination Marine Spatial Planning (SE)

Supporting Institutions:

  • Centre for Marine Sensors (ZfMarS), University Oldenburg (DE),
  • City of Bremen Senator for Climate Protection, Environment, Mobility, Urban Development and Housing (DE),
  • Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg (SE),
  • Federal Archive, Military Archive Freiburg im Breisgau (DE),
  • Federal Maritime and Hydrographic Agency (DE),
  • German Aerospace Center, Institute for the Protection of Maritime Infrastructures (DE),
  • Joint Secretariat - Interreg North Sea Region Programme (DK),
  • Lower Saxony Ministry of the Interior and Sport (DE),
  • Magistrate Bremerhaven (DE), Ministry of Environment and Food (DK),
  • Royal Danish Navy – Ammunition Clearance Unit (DK),
  • Sea War Museum Jutland (DK).